The BSA A7-A10 Forum

Technical => Lucas, Electrical, Ignition => Topic started by: Peter in Aus on 24.06. 2016 01:49

Title: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: Peter in Aus on 24.06. 2016 01:49
adm edit: posts moved from 'Introductions', due to 'many different circumstances" (split, edit, reatribute, etc etc) the original question became post 3 in this topic :O) Can fix it, but topic should be understandable as it is

Hi Martin and welcome,
If the charging system is giving to much grief it is worth considering up grading to 12V system using a Alton 12V AC generator it probably would not cost much more than fixing the existing 6V system, you get much better lights and is very reliable and easy to fit.
No doubt some will disagree with me, but I have fitted the Alton system to both my bikes A7 and A10 and are very happy with them. *smile*
Cheers
Peter
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: cyclobutch on 24.06. 2016 10:51
I think someone might chime in here about if the bike has been stood then the dynamo might need re-energising or some such ... ?
Title: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: tinu on 24.06. 2016 10:55
But first of all, I have to find out, why the dynamo ist not charging the battery. I did a few test already, some more will come as soon as there is some time left. I will let you know the results. Maybe I ask you a few questions, if I can't find the answers in the forum...
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: tinu on 24.06. 2016 14:20
I have normal voltage on the dynamo, but it does not affect the ammeter (that is working), because there is no current to the battery.
I suspect the regulator being faulty, so I test a new one next week.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: tinu on 06.07. 2016 08:35
Finally I manage to exchange the old reg with a new (Wassell) regulator... now everithing is fine! My apprehension was right.
As in an other post already mentioned, I refer to the very useful site: http://matchlessclueless.com/ it helped me to find out what was wrong.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: duTch on 06.07. 2016 08:57

 Hiya tinu, I'm not sure we've had the pleasure of inter-action (bet I caught a few out there hey?  *smile*)

 So I've had a quick look at the Cluelessmatchie site, but what exactly was your problem? It's hard to decipher without background (except in the likely event that I missed something)...

 I'm always curious, as I have intermittent charging issues as I do currently (accidental but well appropriated pun there *smile*)...
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: tinu on 06.07. 2016 09:20
Hi duTch
I had the same problem tiggy discribed in his post http://www.a7a10.net/forum/index.php?topic=8617.0, I just read today.
I had always about -4 on the ammeter, engine on or off. So i did some of the tests discribed on the website... Because I was not sure, if I did the test to measure the voltage of the dynamo correctly (it is a bit tricky if you do with no help), I polarised the dynamo. After that I had a good output up to 15 V but still no voltage behind the regulator. I checked a few cables for resistance, what is complicated if you have to disassemble to get good results. Because I couldn't find something suspicious, I bought a new reg, mounted it and now everything is fine.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: metalflake11 on 27.07. 2016 20:45
Seems it's catching, my regulator has jacked it in. I've sent it back to the maker to test, along with another that failed a while back.........More info to come after they have been tested.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: Triton Thrasher on 27.07. 2016 21:04
adm edit: posts moved from 'Introductions', due to 'many different circumstances" (split, edit, reatribute, etc etc) the original question became post 3 in this topic :O) Can fix it, but topic should be understandable as it is

Hi Martin and welcome,
If the charging system is giving to much grief it is worth considering up grading to 12V system using a Alton 12V AC generator it probably would not cost much more than fixing the existing 6V system, you get much better lights and is very reliable and easy to fit.
No doubt some will disagree with me, but I have fitted the Alton system to both my bikes A7 and A10 and are very happy with them. *smile*
Cheers
Peter

I've had Alton failures and I'm not alone in that.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: wortluck on 01.10. 2016 12:56
Hi gents, just picked up this issue.

My 62 GF wasn't charging so I made some enquiries.  Turns out I needed to clean the dynamo commutator with meths and check the brushes moved easily against the spring - worked a treat and all is good. *smile*
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: bikerbob on 01.10. 2016 16:45
The thing about the dynamo is that it needs to be under load some of the time or it will cease to charge. Some years ago when I did my first restoration on a Gold Flash I had the dynamo overhauled and everything was OK for about 6 months when the dynamo stopped charging. I went to see a friend who knew about such things , his first question was do you use your bike at night no I replied therein lies your problem he said. Take the dynamo off clean the commutator up it will probably be black put it back on and you will find it will now be charging. In future when you go out on your bike put the headlights on for about 50% of your journey this puts a load on the dynamo making it work harder you should have no more problems with the charging. I did as he instructed and the dynamo was working again okay I had that bike for a further 15 years and never had another problem with the dynamo charging. On my presnt A7 I always put the headlight on for most of the time I am riding it.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: wortluck on 01.10. 2016 17:58
Cheers bikerbob, when I finally get my electrics sorted, I'll give it a try.

I don't generally get out at night due to the unpredictability of the lights, but it's worth giving it a shot during the day to see how things go.

Incidentally, what battery do you use.  I've got a Westco which has failed after six weeks (free replacement on way), but I'm not feeling very confident  *conf*
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: bikerbob on 02.10. 2016 15:37
I use cyclon batteryno problems but you have to use it with an electronic regulator such as DVR2no problems
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: wortluck on 02.10. 2016 16:52
Cheers, I've got a DVR2 so may well give Cyclon a shot. *smile*
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: a101960 on 02.10. 2016 17:11
Quote
I use cyclon battery no problems but you have to use it with an electronic regulator such as DVR2 no problems
Yes I agree with bikerbob. One great advantage of the cyclon battery is that all through the winter when the bike is not in use the cyclon holds it charge, and needs absolutely no attention at all. I have found the DVR2 to be an excellent piece of kit. Both items are literally "fit and forget" I should also add that to get the best out of this set up, it is definately worth also fitting the belt drive conversion kit, although this is not absolutely essentional it does deliver optimum efficiency. When I fitted the cyclon and DVR2 I also took the opportunity to go 12v so actually I had to fit two cyclons. It is a descision that I have never regretted. Initially I had one of Paul Goffs' 45 watt H4 BPF flanged lamps fitted and the system was more than able to cope. I have now converted to an all LED lamp set up, dipping LED headlamp lamp, together withe LED tail/stop lamp, and speedo and rev counter led lamps.
John
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: wortluck on 02.10. 2016 17:56
Cheers fellas, not really bothered about the belt drive, LED lights or 12v as I want to keep the bike as original as possible.  The DVR2 was as much of a compromise as I'm willing to make, but the battery situation is driving me round the bend  *pull hair out*  I understand that to run 12v with Cyclons, you have to connect two units in series.  To keep to 6v, you connect the batteries in parallel which gives about 10 amps-ish.

Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: a101960 on 02.10. 2016 18:32
Quote
I understand that to run 12v with Cyclons, you have to connect two units in series.  To keep to 6v, you connect the batteries in parallel which gives about 10 amps-ish.
That's correct. You  need to change the connectors too.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: Elmondo on 08.03. 2017 11:54
Same problem as everyone.
Repolarising the dyynamo?How do you do that.
I also heard that the magnetism on the dynamo can go.How do you re-magnetise it.A diagram would be helpful.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: Triton Thrasher on 08.03. 2017 18:04
Same problem as everyone.
Repolarising the dyynamo?How do you do that.
I also heard that the magnetism on the dynamo can go.How do you re-magnetise it.A diagram would be helpful.

With the engine running faster than idle,  apply a jumper lead from battery live to Dynamo F, briefly. 

That will polarise it. Polarising is the same as restoring the tiny amount of magnetism in the dynamo.
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: cyclobutch on 09.03. 2017 09:18
Battery 'live' is the non earth terminal right?
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: Bsareg on 09.03. 2017 09:39
Battery " live " is the terminal that doesn't  go to the frame (earth).
Title: Re: Dynamo ist not charging
Post by: cyclobutch on 09.03. 2017 12:11
Battery " live " is the terminal that doesn't  go to the frame (earth).

Thanks - that was probably bleeding obvious to everyone else except me.