The BSA A7-A10 Forum

Technical => Clutch, Primary, Gearbox => Topic started by: berger on 09.12. 2018 17:05

Title: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: berger on 09.12. 2018 17:05
well the pub didn't shout loud enough but the workshop did *work* *clap* *grins*. I need some advice from you lovely lot, I have dry built the rrt2 in respect of moving slowly forward with the norbsa thing. when fitting the quadrant do you line up the dots or not because I can only get first neutral and second with dots in line. or do you fit the selector arms differently to a standard box? the cam plate is the reverse one and set with spring plungy thingy in the neutral notch with this on the top of the gearbox casing *help* 
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: bsa-bill on 09.12. 2018 17:30
Don't know about rrt2 but with a standard box you cannot guarantee lining up the dots will be job done, I have had to move the dots a tad off line to get everything working
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: A10 JWO on 09.12. 2018 17:31
Far from being an expert as everyone will agree, was told that the inner's of your gearbox mostly do not interchange with the standard box. I would try calling John Cronshaw who advertises in Old Bike Mart. He is a Goldie Expert. Or have a look at www.novaracing.com, they build RRt2 gearboxes ( 5 speed ). Hope this helps.
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: morris on 09.12. 2018 18:46
Don't know about rrt2 but with a standard box you cannot guarantee lining up the dots will be job done, I have had to move the dots a tad off line to get everything working
Same here.
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: chaterlea25 on 09.12. 2018 19:28
Hi Berger,
The dots are of no use when the reverse camplate is fitted
You have to set the gear cluster in first or top gear, then fit the quadrant as close to the respective end of travel
as possible, then check for gear selection, the quadrant may need to be moved one tooth back from the end if the gears do not select
Its not hard to do really

John
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: berger on 09.12. 2018 19:31
there's no interchanging its all rrt2 so I am confused. com . yes bsa bill I have come across boxes that you have to move the quadrant a tad to make them work.  I will have a look see on that link.
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: berger on 09.12. 2018 19:41
wow charterlea that's the best bit of news today- the quadrant position is of no use with the reverse camplate , cheers for that I WILL go to the pub tomorrow and play again on Tuesday taking your advice and using your method----- ITS SHOWTIME!! *yeah* *loveit* *clap* *beer* *good3* *woo*
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: berger on 11.12. 2018 19:20
I went to the pub *eek *beer* *countdown**but today it was back to the gearbox. now getting all 4 gears and neutral, whilst trying charterlea's advice I noticed someone had lightly pop marked the quadrant just about where it needed to be so I just moved it a tad and BINGO.  *beer*
Title: Re: rrt2 gearbox
Post by: Beeza on 12.12. 2018 09:29
I have done the same on my reverse gear cam plate set ups. It's a little bit of fiddling around and well worth the effort to give yourself a datum for the future.