The BSA A7-A10 Forum

Technical => Lucas, Electrical, Ignition => Topic started by: pdg on 02.02. 2020 16:20

Title: Running dynamo with electrical connections
Post by: pdg on 02.02. 2020 16:20
Hi,

Does anyone know if it's ok to have a dynamo mechanically connected (spinning) but with the electrical terminals not connected to anything?

Many thanks, Peter.
Title: Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
Post by: RDfella on 02.02. 2020 16:57
Won't hurt it in the short term, but likely to glaze the commutator if run for prolonged period.
Title: Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
Post by: pdg on 02.02. 2020 19:15
Many thanks for your reply. It's a refurbished dynamo which I don't want to damage, so looks like some wiring, regulator, and a battery will be required.

Regards, Peter.
Title: Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
Post by: Rex on 02.02. 2020 21:19
Depends on how many miles you anticipate doing. The comm will eventually "glaze" whether there's a battery fitted or not. Personally I'd fit a battery etc regardless.