The BSA A7-A10 Forum

Technical => Frame => Topic started by: TimK on 05.03. 2012 08:09

Title: Correct Speedo?
Post by: TimK on 05.03. 2012 08:09
I've just bought a 1960 Golden Flash which is fitted with a modern speedo, I know that finding the correct one is going to be a challenge but nothing ventured, nothing gained - can anyone tell me what the correct specifications are for the speedo on this bike?
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Brian on 05.03. 2012 08:15
I dont have a lot of info but going by what I have you need a SC3305/04 which is a 120mph unit.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Goldy on 05.03. 2012 08:28
I would not worry too much about the exact model number because as can been seen on the Speedograph Richfield site if you provide them with details it can be correctly calibrated for you bike.          http://www.speedograph-richfield.com/html/calibration_form.html
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: kiwipom on 05.03. 2012 18:48
hi guys, Smiths 120 MPH SC 3305/04 1440 chronometric teller speedo tacho
  Contact: www.simonsoldmotorcycleparts.com/
smiths teller gemerkt SC 3305/04 1440
120 mijlen teller model inbouw
werkend passend voor oa. BSA M33, A7, A10 1958
teller is nageken , schoongemaakt en voorzien van nieuwe rand en glas
kleine lak beschadigingen bij schroeven
prijs : 325 euro exclusief eventuele verzendkosten

smiths 120 miles speedo SC 3305/04 1440
in working order is cleaned
has got new rim and glass
lack cracked by screws
sould fit BSA M 33 , A7 , A10 1958

Price : 325 euro exclusive postage costs

Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: TimK on 05.03. 2012 22:53
Thanks for the info, I suspect it's not going to be cheap to get the correct speedo but it does look possible.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Brian on 05.03. 2012 23:21
For what its worth the speedo that Kiwipom added the link to looks to be reasonable value. ?325 is about AUS $400 and thats cheap.

You can get old ones repaired or recalibrated but its expensive. Last year I sent one to a instrument specialist here in AUS and it was $300 just to get it serviced and when I got it back it didnt work, but thats another story.

Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: kiwipom on 06.03. 2012 00:08
hi guys, i `ve got a spare one here "sc 5301/36 1620" but it`s not for an A10, i was going to use the case to put an electronic one inside but if anyone is interested to make an offer i will look at it,cheers,Bob
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 06.03. 2012 21:44
Don't you dare strip it, i can repair them so what do you want for it? Douglas.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: kiwipom on 07.03. 2012 02:13
hi wilco, what is it worth,cheers,Bob
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: LJ. on 07.03. 2012 10:14
Just a note to anyone thinking of disposing of the speedo internals thinking that they are no good to anybody... Everything is usable and can be repaired or just cleaned up. I'm after a replacement stripped cog wheel... At the moment the speedo is working okay as I've simply turned the cog wheel up the other way, it's working on just a millimetre and a half of cog.  *lol* This was a new old stock WD M20 speedo, I should have cleaned out all the dried factory grease inside before using it.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v631/mr-lj35/M20%20Forum/th_SpeedoDamageM21-1.jpg) (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v631/mr-lj35/M20%20Forum/?action=view&current=SpeedoDamageM21-1.jpg)

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v631/mr-lj35/M20%20Forum/th_SpeedoDamageM21-2.jpg) (http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v631/mr-lj35/M20%20Forum/?action=view&current=SpeedoDamageM21-2.jpg) Click pictures to enlarge.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 07.03. 2012 20:42
I have dozens of them in my spares.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: LJ. on 07.03. 2012 21:10
Hi Wilko... I have my begging cap on... will pm you.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 08.03. 2012 22:45
Come on, i want some begging!
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: TimK on 11.03. 2012 05:34
Thanks for all the advice everyone, I've bought a speedo on eBay but will need to get it serviced/recalibrated. Who are the best people to do this?
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 11.03. 2012 21:16
Otto instruments. Google.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 11.03. 2012 23:22
If you give me your address Laurence, i'll send you a gear.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: LJ. on 12.03. 2012 09:15
Hi Wilko... Many thanks! It seems the forum is still having problems with private messages so I'll email you instead. Thanks for the offer of a wheel.  wink2
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 12.03. 2012 19:43
 Message received, overandout!
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Russ on 17.03. 2012 01:58
TimK
Just sent you a PM regarding speedo restorations in New Zealand. Andrew Rackstraw is his name and quoted $120.

Russ
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 17.03. 2012 20:44
Still haven't posted it yet laurence. In the middle of grape harvesting. All sorts of hours.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 26.03. 2012 01:30
Now i can post it Laurence but i've lost your address!Can you send it again?
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: LJ. on 26.03. 2012 08:27
No hurry Wilko, just keep that grape juice flowing!  *smile* which reminds me to pack and send Manosound a set of magneto spanners. I'll email you my address... cheers!
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: duTch on 09.04. 2012 12:41
Anyone mind me gatecrashing , and ask if anyone can tell me what mine may be from? It's a SC 3305/22 1620.
 On the back is a typewritten tag under sticky tape, says 'PS.37743.' which may be a repair job#....?
   I bought it as 'reconditioned' from a place in Sydney in '79 worked ok last time I used it, but maybe should have a look, as I think it's the only thing I haven't pulled apart yet.
 I found a site somewhere a while back that explained how to ID them, but now can't find it.
   cheers duTch
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Russ on 09.04. 2012 13:18

Dutch,
In a recent email from Andrew Rackstraw, of New Zealand, "where I have sent a speedo to be reconditioned" he stated:
The number on the dials that you refer to are the model number which would determine a stepped bezel, a side light hole and any other options the manufacturer of the bikes would specify. Hope this helps in some way.
Russ
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: duTch on 09.04. 2012 15:04
Hey Thanks Russ, I knew it was something like that, and I really don't give a flying fig what it's off as long as it's there and looks legal, 'cos I probably never look at it anyway. Mainly for the odometer to see what kind of mileage I get, and when I need to fill up.  I just dug up from goggle world this old post, which also was a good look.
http://www.a7a10.net/forum/index.php/topic,2929.msg19724.html#msg19724 (http://www.a7a10.net/forum/index.php/topic,2929.msg19724.html#msg19724)

 Richard L, that's some priddy fancy mathematics in there, and more than one too!!!!  might use those?

It's funny how when I try and be independant and go google, a lot of times I end up back on the forum- guess that's how I came here in the first place.

       Also in my hunting I found this link on another forum that may be useful
http://www.mc-albion.dk/AMC/Technical/Speedo/Smiths_Motor_Cycle_Equipment_1954-1958.pdf (http://www.mc-albion.dk/AMC/Technical/Speedo/Smiths_Motor_Cycle_Equipment_1954-1958.pdf)
     
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: trevinoz on 09.04. 2012 22:53
Dutch,
                 The "1620" refers to the cable revs per mile.
Not quite right for a STD box whic should have "1450".
I suspect you will be reading a little slow. Watch the Coppers, I had the wrong speedo on my bike years ago wlth it reading slow but the Police speedo was reading correctly and I was fined.
Trev.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: duTch on 10.04. 2012 12:17
Thanks Trev, I've been running on guesswork for longtime anyway. The 'Vaguelia' on my Guzzi stopped about 12 years ago on a trip to Melbourne, but even when it did work was living up to it's name-just have to take an average!!!
 It really was just the cable, but the needle jumped ship anyway and I finally had it reno'd last year, but didn't last long, but at least the odo works.
   Am always looking out for the boys, making sure they're not up to 'no-good', 'specially after doing a year on 1 point!! a bit distracting tho'
      Also now I think from what I read before about speedo specs., is part of the  numbers/letters denotes trip/meter- side or bottom??
             cheers ,duTch
 ps, the face of mine looks exactly like that one of Kiwipoms'
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Rocket Racer on 13.08. 2012 05:47
Can anyone tell me whether (if running twin clocks) the needles start at 1pm or 7pm approximately.
I'm guessing they would be 7pm, so typically pointing to around 12 when running. And also presumably both the same start point.

I have two speedos one came with the '60 super rocket, am planning to have one converted to the hard to find 3:1 tach.
Are these typically calibrated to 8000 or 10000rpm?

the 2nd speedo needs a different needle as it has a later style face (was apparently on a venom previously) 
Tim
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: bsa-bill on 13.08. 2012 09:47
in the UK the Super Rocket one would start at one o clock with a white line at 30
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Rocket Racer on 13.08. 2012 22:03
in the UK the Super Rocket one would start at one o clock with a white line at 30


even in the case of paired clocks?

My speedo starts at 1 oclock but has the bezel for sitting in the headlight nacelle. I wondered if the separate clocks on the mounting had the 7 oclock.
Either way guessing they need to be the same.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: bsa-bill on 13.08. 2012 22:42
I wouldn't swear to it but I think a rev counter may well have been an extra ( anybody know for sure?),
Just guessing here but would think BSA wouldn't take a speedo off to fit a matched pair, they'd just add a rev counter

Will be interesting to here from anybody who knows
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Rocket Racer on 15.09. 2012 02:44
Was originally planning to convert a spare (velocette) 120mph speedo to a tach, but have dug deep and outlayed much $$$ for a genuine RC1303/03 tach ;D
now dummying up my instruments, I notice my speedo has slightly smaller diameter mounting studs on the back (as no doubt out of a nacelle model) as well as the bezel with the flat back edge.
It also has the trip meter pin coming out the base, whereas my handlebar mounted speedo on my ZB33 has the trip meter coming out of the circular radius edge towards the rider.

Can anyone confirm if the speedo's used on twin clock machines have a case with heavier base studs and a different trip meter location?
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: trevinoz on 15.09. 2012 22:02
RR,
          The cowl/nacelle speedos have a bottom trip and proud mounted have a side trip.
The studs should all be the same, being 6mm X 1.0 mm pitch.
0 BA will fit.
Re your earlier post, both clocks start at 1 o'clock.
The needle on the speedo is different to the tacho.
The tacho has a blunt end and the speedo has a fancy oval affair.

Trev.
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: Rocket Racer on 15.09. 2012 22:18
RR,
          The cowl/nacelle speedos have a bottom trip and proud mounted have a side trip.
The studs should all be the same, being 6mm X 1.0 mm pitch.
0 BA will fit.
Re your earlier post, both clocks start at 1 o'clock.
The needle on the speedo is different to the tacho.
The tacho has a blunt end and the speedo has a fancy oval affair.

Trev.

Trev,
 thanks for that! I suspect my speedo may have stripped a mounting stud thread and both have been recut to a smaller diameter.
Was planning to change the bezel, but given the case/trip meter arent right and the face isnt great, just about need another clock  *sad2* Oh well another thing to add somewhere to the projects list of missing or incorrect/spend money  *problem*
At least I have a nice tach!
Cheers
Tim
Title: Re: Correct Speedo?
Post by: wilko on 15.09. 2012 23:05
I bought a new needle and face from Otto Instruments years ago. Give him a go. I wouldn't be fussy if i was you, they all go for 250 bucks now working or not.