Author Topic: Oil leak when clutch pulled in  (Read 1039 times)

Offline nzmarty

• Active
Oil leak when clutch pulled in
« on: 05.10. 2016 21:28 »
Hi there.  I have acquired a '54 B33 500 in good running (riding) condition, but whenever I pull the clutch in oil pours (yes pours) from the bottom of the gearbox.  It otherwise doesn't leak, and th leak from the clutch pull stops as soon as I release the clutch.  I presume the 'expert' who overhauled the engine prior to my taking possession forgot to fit, or damaged when fitting, a pretty substantial seal.  Questions - is this common?  Is the seal accessible with the engine fitted (i.e. hopefully don't need machining to fit oversize).  Where can I get parts?  I am new to BSA, so please be gentle.

Offline Greybeard

• Jack of all trades; master of none.
  • Wise & Enlightened
Re: Oil leak when clutch pulled in
« Reply #1 on: 05.10. 2016 21:49 »
Hi Marty?
This forum is for A7 & A10 machines but I'm sure someone here can point you in the right direction.
Greybeard (Neil)
2023 Gold Star
Supporter of THE DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDE https://www.gentlemansride.com

Warwickshire UK

A Distinguished Gentleman Riding his 1955 Plunger Golden Flash

Offline chaterlea25

• Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: 05.10. 2016 23:48 »
Hi,
From your description it sounds like the bolts and screws holding the gearbox together are either loose or
threadbound so not clamping the cases together properly????
Pulling in the clutch then forces them apart  *????* *????* *????* *????*

John
1961 Super Rocket
1963 RGS (ongoing)

Online KiwiGF

• Last had an A10 in 1976, in 2011 it was time for my 2nd one. It was the project from HELL (but I learned a lot....)
  • Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #3 on: 07.10. 2016 09:21 »
Hi Marty, where in NZ are you? The reason I ask is that there is a good club on the nth island you can join and get help from fellow BSA owners (I used to be the secretary until recently).

See http://www.bsa.org.nz