Author Topic: Peculiar Tank  (Read 1213 times)

Offline Brucie64

• A's Good Friend
Peculiar Tank
« on: 15.05. 2009 23:00 »
Just to say before we start, I am a complete Newbie to Classic Bikes (This being my first venture) so please go easy if my query seems platently obvious.

I have just bought a 1957 A10 Spitfire Scrambler, unfortuneatly it didn't come with the original 2.5 gallon tank. However I managed to get a temporary tank to use whilst I hunt out the proper unit for it.

I don't have a clue where and on what the tank originated from, does anyone know what it's from as I'd be very interested to know?

Brucie
Aylesbury
Bucks
Bruce
Spitfire
UK

Offline flashblack

• West Devon, England
  • A's Good Friend
  • 1959 golden flash
Re: Peculiar Tank
« Reply #1 on: 16.05. 2009 08:25 »
Hi and welcome,
                 your tank looks like it could be the same as my spare tank, ie, without badges or kneegrips, also the shape looks the same. Yours appears to be chromed, whereas mine is not, although that doesn`t mean it wasn`t originally.
     I recently asked the same question as you, so here is a link to that thread which may be of some help to you.
               Richie   http://www.a7a10.net/forum/index.php?topic=879.0
1959 golden flash
1949 B31 plunger

Offline BSA_54A10

• Wise & Enlightened
    • BSA National
« Reply #2 on: 16.05. 2009 09:29 »
Unlike the other bike assemblers BSA made most of their motorcycles and this included the petrol tanks.
Most tanks are a two piecs job with a deep drawn top and a light pressed bottom.
Deep drawing dies are very expensive where as light press dies are much cheaper so BSA tended to use the same tank top section for a very large number of motorcycles and different bottoms to suit the particular model.