Author Topic: Youth revisited  (Read 641 times)

Offline stevejs

• Moving Up
Youth revisited
« on: 14.11. 2017 20:54 »
Hello all. As per the rules, as a newbie, I'm posting, to make sure my account isn't deleted. It's a good idea to encourage a bit of participation, rather than just being a voyeur.

I've just reacquainted myself with the joys of A7ss ownership after a gap of something like forty years. My first bike (after passing my test on a scooter) was a chopperised A7ss. It cost £38 and ran well, but had a weird seat and ape bars. Soon had them removed and it started to drive and look a bit better. Loved the bike and only moved it on when I bought a Trident in 1977, which I still have.

The second A7ss came into my life two weeks ago. I'd seen it for sale on the internet a year ago, and quite fancied it because it looked beautifull and was a 1954 registration - the same as me! I decided not to buy it, but regretted the decision, so when it reappeared at the same dealer's last month I had to go and look. Someone had traded it in for a Norton plodder single......Whattttt!

The bike exceeded expectations. It looks great, but it's the way it runs that's impressive. Sympathetically restored, but sensibly - not concours. I won't worry if it picks up the odd scratch. It runs beautifully apart from a tendency to slip the clutch a bit if it's opened up too quickly. I've checked free play to make sure it's completely disengaged, so assume there's a bit of oil on the plates.