Author Topic: Something Interesting  (Read 938 times)

Online RichardL

• Outside Chicago, IL
  • Wise & Enlightened
Something Interesting
« on: 01.12. 2017 02:26 »
Momentarily standing in for Neil (Greybeard) in posting something non-BSA   that should still be interesting to the menbers. Don't get excited, it's still motorcycles.

https://youtu.be/WR-FfL5Nf6Y

Richard L.
Plan on signing up for the world-wide 2017 DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDE on September 30, 2018. Watch website at https://www.gentlemansride.com for details.

Online Sluggo

• Serial Hoarder, or Eccentric Collector depending on viewpoint
  • Resident Legend
Re: Something Interesting
« Reply #1 on: 01.12. 2017 08:12 »
I doubt thats the ONLY 3 bikes with a radial engine,, but it is cool!!!  *smiley4*

There is nothing quite like the sound of a radial,, I am no expert but I did do some training on them in school.
(Degree in Aerospace mechanical science, Community College of the US Air Force, European campus locations)
as well as in FAA college courses at a local college.

One of my practical tests was in the ignitions course modules at the local college was I had to rebuild, install and then time some radial engines, the 9 cyl was hard, but even more challenging was the double row 18cyl engines.  I would have to look up my old class notes as I still have them in the attic to tell you which specific ones they were.  But I was ticked off when Harold, the instructor asked me.,.
"Does it run because of you or in spite of you?".. Later I came to appreciate his wit & candor, its actually an excellent metaphor. (including leadership and mgmt).

You will notice that on a radial its typically an odd number of cylinders and timing them is challenging and WHY they have that stattaco bark and odd exhaust note.  The reason is every cyl has to give up a few degrees to get the whole assy to run.  It all works out of course,, but they can be a spine tingler to ride in when off their sweet spot