Author Topic: Primary oil level gs550  (Read 733 times)

Offline coater87

• Wise & Enlightened
Primary oil level gs550
« on: 28.08. 2018 00:14 »
 Anyone have a Phil Pearson conversion and know what the oil level should be?

It's a wet clutch, and I think I am running with too little oil in the primary.

I had adjusted primary tension than went for a ride. When I removed inspection cover to check over the chain I think I smelled burning clutch.  The case didnt seem overly warm but I thought I better find out.

Thinking about it, I would guess I would not need more than a normal a10, just enough to touch the chain, but I dont like the smell. *conf*

Lee
Central Wisconsin in the U.S.

Offline LJ.

• Peterborough UK.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • The Red A10!
    • LJ's Website!
Re: Primary oil level gs550
« Reply #1 on: 28.08. 2018 11:10 »
Hi Lee,
My first thought is that there is not enough info here... I have no knowledge of conversions, is this an electric start conversion?? Is this a new fitting giving off it's newness smell? Smelling the clutch burning suggests that there is clutch plate slippage or something to do with the conversion  *conf2* . I'd have thought that the oil level screw on the bottom of primary case would have been sufficient to give adequate lubrication, what oil are you using in there? I use 20/50 and have no problems. At the correct level the chain should be just hitting the oil level causing a misting within the case, this in itself should mask any smell. I think you need to look up and refer to Phil Pearsons conversion instructions, hopefully someone else with same conversion should help.
Ride Safely Lads! LJ.
1940 BSA M20 500cc Girder/Rigid- (SOLD)
1947 BSA M21 600cc Girder/Rigid-Green
1949 BSA A7   500cc Girder/Plunger Star Twin-(SOLD)
1953 BSA B33  500cc Teles/Plunger-Maroon
1961 BSA A10  650cc Golden Flash-Blue
1961 BSA A10  650cc Golden Flash-Red

Offline coater87

• Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: 29.08. 2018 23:04 »
 Hi LJ,