Author Topic: A10 Swinging Arm removal  (Read 4378 times)

Chipster

A10 Swinging Arm removal
« on: 12.09. 2007 10:20 »
Hi all,

Newbie to the forum, so 'Hello' to everyone. Chipster here, from Northumberland, England.

I've got a 1959 A10 and I can't for the life of me remove the swinging arm. The silent block bushes are clearly shot now, far too much play, but how on earth do I remove the swinging arm, and then how do I get the bushes out for replacement?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Will also take some pics of the bike to post, as she is currently complete.

Thanks.

Offline Caretaker

• Making things work !
  • Administrator
  • Valued Contributor
Re: A10 Swinging Arm removal
« Reply #1 on: 12.09. 2007 11:33 »
Hi, if you are a BSA A owner, you are no newbie here!
Welcome, and hope you find good help.

Regards

"Sometimes I say things that are so highly intelligent that I do not understand a word of it"

Offline fido

• Ferdinandovac, Croatia
  • Resident Legend
« Reply #2 on: 12.09. 2007 18:35 »
Are you sure the play is in the bushes? On my A7SS the hole became enlarged in the frame where the large nut goes on the end of the hollow spindle. I could not get the spindle out and ended up welding the nut to the frame. I've had frames powder coated with the swinging arm in situ because the bushes have rusted in. Some people saw through both sides of the spindle and then use a fly press to remove the bushes with the spindle fragment.

Online Brian

• Wise & Enlightened
  • Mt Gambier, South Australia.
« Reply #3 on: 13.09. 2007 02:48 »