Author Topic: Flopp automatic advance unit  (Read 1717 times)

Offline iansoady

• Valued Contributor
Flopp automatic advance unit
« on: 18.08. 2010 15:35 »
Another minor issue raises its head. Whilst I have the timing cover off, I twiddled the automatic advance unit (asyou do). The pins that the weights pivot on and have the springs attached seem loose in the backplate - to such an extent that the springs don't seem to return the unit to full retard. If I rotate the mag (via the engine) it does return to full retard but it looks as though the timing is going to be wildly erratic when running.

I take it that this isn't normal - I have no experience with these devices as all the mags I've previously had have been manual advance.

I was wondering whether these units are dismantleable(?) and if anyone has any experience of doing this. Being a cheapskate I don't want to shell out for a new unit unless I really have to. I was wondering about MIG welding the pins to the backplate......
Ian.
1962 Golden Flash (arrived)
1955 Velo Viper/Venom (departed)
2004 Triumph Tiger 955i (staying)

Offline BSALarry

• Active
Re: Flopp automatic advance unit
« Reply #1 on: 18.08. 2010 19:38 »