Author Topic: Brit bikes in the 60's  (Read 1641 times)

Offline Goldy

• Warwickshire, England
  • Resident Legend
Brit bikes in the 60's
« on: 14.10. 2010 13:32 »
In another topic Pete Gray suggested a thread based on riding Brit Bikes in the 60,s, so I will start it off.  I bought my A7 in about 1967 (see picture) and it was second hand ( I was an apprentice on £5 per week). I think it was a 1960 model and it came from Copes of Wolverhampton. (wish I still had it ).  It is interesting that today everyone seems to want machines that are fully original, but in the 60,s the first thing that we did was to try and make them different. Drop or clip on bars, swept back pipes, goldie silencers, some even going to fibre glass tanks and racing seats.  It was all helped by Companies such as Eddie Dow who supplied all this type of parts. A spoon full of Castrol  "R" was added to the petrol to get the smell.        Everything revolved around the coffee bar or Kaff and of course Mods and Rockers, ( Rockers on bikes for those that don't know).  The press liked to highlight the punch ups between the two that usually happened at seaside resorts on Bank Holidays, but in most towns not much happened. Life revolved around bikes, and girls in that order. Evenings were spent at the coffee bar, bikes lined up outside, coffee and a chat and then off for a ride to another coffee bar or just a good run on open roads. It was a chance to swap bikes and try a mates machine. I used to like the feel of my A7 on acceleration, but when I tried a 'tuned up' Bonneville I suddenly found out what a wheelie was. Sunday morning was for cleaning and servicing and Sunday afternoon was for a ride. In the Midlands Wolverhampton to Bridgnorth was a good run (there would be hundreds of bikes) and if I remember correctly this road was one of the last to have a speed limit installed.  Back to Monday and start all over again.