Author Topic: Crunchy 2nd gear  (Read 1125 times)

Offline pjm01

• Moving Up
Crunchy 2nd gear
« on: 09.03. 2014 13:56 »
I fitted a SRM clutch to my '59 SS and gear selection is smooth and sweet except for 2nd which goes in readily enough but is slightly hesitant and crunchy ...... I'm a relative newbie and would appreciate any guidance as to where to start with this issue. I'm not up to a 'gearbox rebuild' ...... ! By the way, the SRM clutch is great, really light and I can sometimes even find neutral when stationary. Many thanks .... Peter M

Online muskrat

• Global Moderator
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • Lithgow NSW Oz
    • Shoalhaven Classic Motorcycle Club Inc
Re: Crunchy 2nd gear
« Reply #1 on: 09.03. 2014 18:20 »
G'day Peter.
First question is did it do that before the SRM clutch? Did you dial in the pressure plate lift? Has the box ever been looked into?
I'd loosen the detent spring a turn to see if it helps at all. Lots of parts can wear in there to create similar problems. My first thought goes to the selector fork bent or engagement dogs burred.
Cheers
'51 A7 plunger, '57 A7SS racer now a A10CR, '78 XT500, '83 CB1100F, 88 HD FXST, 2000 CBR929RR ex Honda Australia Superbike .
Australia
Muskys Plunger A7

Offline wilko

• Resident Legend
« Reply #2 on: 09.03. 2014 22:00 »
Synchro ring worn!

beezermacc

« Reply #3 on: 10.03. 2014 08:35 »
Is it the same changing up and down? I find that changing down to second is often quite snatchy on A10's particularly if you change down a bit too early.

Offline pjm01

• Moving Up
« Reply #4 on: 10.03. 2014 09:37 »