Author Topic: Refitting engine to Frame  (Read 1201 times)

Offline Duncan R

  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: 3
Refitting engine to Frame
« on: 09.10. 2008 16:25 »
Hello,

Sorry to ask a stupid question - Is it possible to put the engine back in the frame if it is fully built on the bench ? i.e with the topend on. My mannual is in UK and I am overseas at the moment (just planning for next year when I get back)

Thanks for your time

Duncan
Anglo - Indian A7SS (Actually is a 650)
Kawasaki ZZR 1100
BMW R80GS
BMW R1100GS

Offline Chrisf1

  • A's Good Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: 0
Re: Refitting engine to Frame
« Reply #1 on: 09.10. 2008 18:23 »
hi duncan yes it is i did it a few months back chris

Offline Duncan R

  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: 3
Re: Refitting engine to Frame
« Reply #2 on: 09.10. 2008 19:52 »
Thanks again Chris  *smile*
Anglo - Indian A7SS (Actually is a 650)
Kawasaki ZZR 1100
BMW R80GS
BMW R1100GS

Online trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 3004
  • Karma: 71
Re: Refitting engine to Frame
« Reply #3 on: 09.10. 2008 21:01 »
Hi Duncan, I build my engines and time them before I fit the head. I leave the generator and front engine plates off and drop the engine into the rear plates. I then fit the front plates. This saves a lot of paint being scratched from the front plates.
             Trev.

Offline Duncan R

  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 291
  • Karma: 3
Re: Refitting engine to Frame
« Reply #4 on: 09.10. 2008 21:47 »
Many thanks Trev
Anglo - Indian A7SS (Actually is a 650)
Kawasaki ZZR 1100
BMW R80GS
BMW R1100GS