Author Topic: K2f mag??  (Read 2040 times)

Offline michael snellin

• A's Good Friend
K2f mag??
« on: 04.10. 2013 08:48 »
Hi, can anybody explain the workings of the above magneto i know that it does generate its own current seperate from the other electrics i purchased a manual mag from a well known jumble and in working order but it is the direction that the mag runs in IE clockwise/anticlockwise ??that i am a bit lost and the auto/adv, i have the assembly for a auto/adv that came with the rest of the bit and pieces with another mag that does not work is there a difference between these components the AUTO/ADV timing piece? and can i use this with the manual mag?
                       appologies for not being to clear ?????

Online bsa-bill

• Wise & Enlightened
Re: K2f mag??
« Reply #1 on: 04.10. 2013 10:34 »
A few good experts on this forum who are very helpful, I'm far from an expert but can answer a couple of your questions until more knowing members comment.

Rotation - this is as viewed from the driven end ( the end with  A/R unit on it) and if it's on an A7/10 it's anti clockwise and should be marked as such on the plate at the drive end.
be aware that for A7/10 s a bit of the shoulder of the body is relieved to accommodate the crankcase, compare the one you bought with your original.

The Auto advance unit can be used with a manual magneto if you lock it up so it can't move (weld?), but solid pinions are available and not too extremely costly (better option I reckon)

most common faults I think are breakdown of the insulation in the windings, and capacitor goes duff, both these are the cause of non starting when warm (will start ok cold), loss of magnetism (standing unused for years), dirty slip ring due to long use or more likely these days soft brushes in the pickups and now we here there are faulty pickups on the market as well.

and the points need to be kept clean and adjusted to correct gap.

all the best with it - Bill

All the best - Bill