Author Topic: Dynamo chain replacement?  (Read 1537 times)

Offline Grammabud

  • Moving Up
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Dynamo chain replacement?
« on: 01.02. 2014 21:20 »
Is it necessary to remove the crank sprocket in order to replace the endless dynamo chain?  If so, does it require a special puller?

Why is the chain endless anyway???

"Never make the same mistake three times"

Online trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 2877
  • Karma: 67
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #1 on: 01.02. 2014 21:30 »
You should be able to remove it by rotating the dynamo until it is loose and lift it off.
Maybe it is endless because the design engineers were afraid that a clip would come off.
Probably the same reason they made duplex primary chains endless.

Trev.

Online morris

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1560
  • Karma: 23
  • Antwerp, Belgium
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #2 on: 01.02. 2014 21:50 »
I had to pull the crankshaft sprocket off to remove the chain on mine. No way to lift the chain over the sprocket. It wouldn't pass between the sprocket and the case.
I used a small bearing puller over the sprocket with the chain on (in case something gets damaged it will be the chain not the sprocket)
This was before I converted to belt drive which is an option sure worth to consider.
The belt pulley has two 1/4 ww threaded holes to get it off the shaft without a puller, and the small pulley is threaded inside to pull it off easily.
It also makes your dynamo spin 20% faster, so makes for a better charge, and if the belt lets go, it'll sure make less damage than a chain.
I am thinking along the same lines as you Trev. A clip on such a flimsy chain could easily let go.
'58 BSA A 10 SA
'52 BSA A 10 Plunger
'55 MORRIS ISIS
The world looks better from a motorbike
Belgium

Online WozzA

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 1292
  • Karma: 16
  • Melbourne Australia
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #3 on: 02.02. 2014 02:17 »
as Trev said... I just rotated the dynamo to slacken the chain to remove & replace it...
'51 Golden Flash Plunger
'57 Golden Flash Swingarm

Melbourne
The biggest lie I tell myself is
"I don't need to write that down, I'll remember it"

Online RichardL

  • Outside Chicago, IL
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 4997
  • Karma: 48
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #4 on: 02.02. 2014 02:40 »
Look closely fo the removable-link retaining clip. It's small and might be ovelooked. .
Plan on signing up for the world-wide 2017 DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDE on September 30, 2018. Watch website at https://www.gentlemansride.com for details.

Offline Grammabud

  • Moving Up
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #5 on: 02.02. 2014 03:32 »
The chain was broken when I bought the bike.  I purchased a Reynolds replacement.  It has no master link.  Like MORRIS, There is insufficient space between the crank sprocket and case to install the chain.  At least on this bike the sprocket will need to be removed.  
I don't understand why some are different.

"Never make the same mistake three times"

Offline KeithJ

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: 1
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #6 on: 05.02. 2014 10:22 »
"I don't understand why some are different."
Perhaps to do with the type of machinery they were made on and methods used.  When casting crankcases wooden patterns are used.  From time to time they need to be refurbished and hence the moulds produced may vary.  Don't forget these were made in the dark ages when investment in modern machinery was not in vogue.
ATB
Keith
'59 A10RR + Second engine

Online bsa-bill

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 5413
  • Karma: 61
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #7 on: 05.02. 2014 11:09 »
I agree with Keith

the inner case partition webs differ in thickness
All the best - Bill
1961 Flash - stock, reliable, steady, fantastic for shopping
1959 Rocket Gold Flash - blinged and tarted up  would have seizure if taken to  Tesco

Offline townsends20

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 1
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #8 on: 05.02. 2014 21:45 »
Why replace the chain when you can convert it to belt (no noise, no rattle, and no damage from a slack or broken chain)
    Steve.
1962 rgs

Offline duTch

  • Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 4540
  • Karma: 41
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #9 on: 06.02. 2014 09:45 »

 Hey Morris,
 
Quote
I had to pull the crankshaft sprocket off to remove the chain on mine.
,

 I'm sure you meant 'drive Sprocket', as this is not on the crankshaft...?

 I have the SRM belt conversion, but still had to relieve the casting to accommodate the drive pulley...... :!
When I remove the pulley/sprocket, I slip a chock (thick enough to take up end float) between it and the case and after loosening the nut give it (idler shaft stub) a sharp rap with a 'drift and hammer' - should jar it from the taper.
 I also think the nut only needs to be tight enough to stop the pulley from slipping, it doesn't load up too much...??
Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Online morris

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1560
  • Karma: 23
  • Antwerp, Belgium
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #10 on: 06.02. 2014 19:43 »
Quote
I had to pull the crankshaft sprocket off to remove the chain on mine.
,

 I'm sure you meant 'drive Sprocket', as this is not on the crankshaft...?
Right.....sorry *eek*
'58 BSA A 10 SA
'52 BSA A 10 Plunger
'55 MORRIS ISIS
The world looks better from a motorbike
Belgium

Offline duTch

  • Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 4540
  • Karma: 41
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #11 on: 07.02. 2014 12:51 »

 's ok, no need fer 'sorry', am not pickin' on you...... *beer*
Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Online morris

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1560
  • Karma: 23
  • Antwerp, Belgium
Re: Dynamo chain replacement?
« Reply #12 on: 07.02. 2014 17:24 »
I know you didn't, I just want to get the facts right.
Cheers ;)
'58 BSA A 10 SA
'52 BSA A 10 Plunger
'55 MORRIS ISIS
The world looks better from a motorbike
Belgium