Author Topic: Installing stub axle in drum bearing, Q.D. wheel  (Read 337 times)

Offline jachenbach

• Resident Legend
Finally found/acquired a complete rear axle assembly for the RGS (traded an extra steering stem/top clamp). I assume I have to press the short stub into the drum bearing, but measuring both I'm guessing it's way too tight. A quick measurement before cleaning the inner race to get a good measurement indicated the axle diameter is about .010" larger than the bearing i.d. Seems to me that it should only be about .002-.003" so that with the bearing heated and the stub frozen it should press in easily. It's been way too long since I studied physics/chemistry/calculus for me to do the calculations. Any thoughts on what range of interference fit I should have before pressing it in?

Offline RichardL

• Outside Chicago, IL
  • Wise & Enlightened
Re: Installing stub axle in drum bearing, Q.D. wheel
« Reply #1 on: 17.05. 2015 16:25 »
Even if you could get the stub axle into the bearing by thermal and brute force means, I would think the bearing would be no good after that.

Richard L.
Plan on signing up for the world-wide 2020 DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDEon September 27, 2020 (if it's not cancelled and we are free to move about by then). Watch website at https://www.gentlemansride.com for details.

Offline duTch

• Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: 17.05. 2015 17:20 »

Is it a chainwheel with a bolt-on sprocket...?

I had that problem,, seemed like a good idea at the time, but I didn't know came from a A65/50, they have a different size bearing, and more...!

Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Offline jachenbach

• Resident Legend
« Reply #3 on: 17.05. 2015 18:33 »