Author Topic: Ouch!  (Read 516 times)

Online Greybeard

• Jack of all trades; master of none.
  • Wise & Enlightened
Ouch!
« on: 27.07. 2015 17:48 »
In this thread you can tell us about your, er, incidents, either BSA or not.

I have not, (yet) come off my BSA but I have a couple of other stories, both relating to Honda 500 Four's

Are you sitting comfortably? Then I'll begin.

Once upon a time; this would be about 1973, I worked as a mechanic at a Puch and Honda dealership. I had just serviced a lovingly maintained shiny black Honda 500 Four. While road testing the machine, (one of the perks of the job) I decided to go home for lunch. I was urging the bike rapidly up a hill in the town we lived in, (Chatham in Kent) that has a tight left bend at the top; the road must have been greasy cos next moment I'm sprawling across the road. I was not really hurt but the lovely Honda needed some new exhaust pipes and silencers and a partial paint job. I still feel the shame of having to tell the very nice owner what I had done to his pride and joy!