Author Topic: Where to start  (Read 1263 times)

Tim Louth

Where to start
« on: 13.04. 2009 18:36 »
Hello all,

I have just joined the forum and need some input.
I have been riding bikes for 35 years and have most recently been into building Streetfighters based on 70's japanese 4's.
Now I need a real challenge so I have decided to get a British Classic to put back to as close to the day it left the factory as possible.
I have my eyes on a BSA Golden Flash (early 50's I think) belonging to the widow of a very good friend of mine.
I have only seen the front end really, as the rest is under a mountain in his garage. The tank is black with a red Gold Flash badge on it.
I know it hasn't been run for over 30 years.
I intend to do a nut and bolt re-build.
I work overseas and will be going to have a proper look when I get home in June. I have a few questions that I hope some of you can help me with..

1. What is a fair price to offer his widow, I really don't want to be accused of ripping her off but I don't want to pay over the odds as I know it will be an expensive project?
2. What should I be looking out for, any weaknesses or common problems with these bikes?
3. What is the availabilty of parts like?
4. Are they easy to convert to unleaded?
5. Any other tips and hints before I start on my journey.

I have a feeling you will be hearing from me quite regularly over the next few years.

Many thanks.

Tim Louth.

Offline Beezageezauk

• N.E. England
  • Resident Legend
Re: Where to start
« Reply #1 on: 13.04. 2009 19:31 »
Hi Tim and welcome to the forum.  I think that the first thing you need to determine is the exact model and  year.  We can then be more specific.  Also advise us where you are based and we should be able to advise on suppliers of spare parts in your area.