Author Topic: dynamo temp  (Read 344 times)

Online RoyC

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 1067
  • Karma: 7
dynamo temp
« on: 23.03. 2018 07:44 »
Does the dynamo get hot ?
Thinking of smartening mine up a bit.
My bike is a 1958 A7SS
Stafford UK

Online morris

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 1512
  • Karma: 22
  • Antwerp, Belgium
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #1 on: 23.03. 2018 09:22 »
If you mean painting, it can be done but the paint isolates the dynamo body from the engine. You’d have to run a separate earth wire from the dynamo to engine or frame
'58 BSA A 10 SA
'52 BSA A 10 Plunger
'55 MORRIS ISIS
The world looks better from a motorbike
Belgium

Online bsa-bill

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 5331
  • Karma: 61
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #2 on: 23.03. 2018 09:46 »
does the dynamo body need to be earthed ?, it is a two wire system and can be polarised either way by simple flashing, I'm thinking it would prevent polarisation if it were necessary to be earthed
All the best - Bill
1961 Flash - stock, reliable, steady, fantastic for shopping
1959 Rocket Gold Flash - blinged and tarted up  would have seizure if taken to  Tesco

Online RoyC

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 1067
  • Karma: 7
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #3 on: 23.03. 2018 09:57 »
If you mean painting
Not painting.
I was considering covering the top/visible part with either aluminium tape or a shaped piece of stainless steel.
The main body of the dynamo would still be in contact with the engine.
My bike is a 1958 A7SS
Stafford UK

Online duTch

  • Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 4477
  • Karma: 40
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #4 on: 23.03. 2018 10:03 »
 
Quote
does the dynamo body need to be earthed ?, it is a two wire system and can be polarised either way by simple flashing, I'm thinking it would prevent polarisation if it were necessary to be earthed

 A bit off-topic but; My limited understanding is that YES- it needs to be earthed, which the body *normally* does. The green wire feeds the field coil, and the yellow wire uploads the hefty (up to)~10amps *whistle* to the regulator...I've run a earth wire to battery from the common field/brush wires terminate on the bearing boss in the body, I do this because my (dynamo) body is a bit crusty so don't fully trust it ...

 To answer the question
Quote
Does the dynamo get hot ?
......dunno, I guess so- depending on the ambient air temp, the demand on the unit, and the transferred heat from however hard you ride the motor. Maybe buy a small oven thermometer and stick it in there and let us know, everywhere will be different.

 You posted while I was writing;
Quote
I was considering covering the top/visible part with either aluminium tape or a shaped piece of stainless steel.

 I'd say the more free air they have the better

Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Online Triton Thrasher

  • Scotland
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 1452
  • Karma: 20
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #5 on: 23.03. 2018 10:06 »
The dynamo body must have electrical continuity to the battery earth terminal.

Dynamos can overheat.




Online Greybeard

  • Jack of all trades; master of none.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2011
  • Posts: 5636
  • Karma: 30
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #6 on: 23.03. 2018 10:14 »
Andrew at Priory magnetos, (https://sites.google.com/site/priorymagnetos/home)  may be able to provide you with a plated, (not chrome) dynamo body; he did for me.

Online RoyC

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 1067
  • Karma: 7
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #7 on: 23.03. 2018 13:07 »
Andrew at Priory magnetos, (https://sites.google.com/site/priorymagnetos/home)  may be able to provide you with a plated, (not chrome) dynamo body; he did for me.
Is Andrew trading again then ?
My bike is a 1958 A7SS
Stafford UK

Online Greybeard

  • Jack of all trades; master of none.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2011
  • Posts: 5636
  • Karma: 30
Re: dynamo temp
« Reply #8 on: 23.03. 2018 13:26 »
Andrew at Priory magnetos, (https://sites.google.com/site/priorymagnetos/home)  may be able to provide you with a plated, (not chrome) dynamo body; he did for me.
Is Andrew trading again then ?

From his website:
Business Hours:   Mondays and Tuesdays only, 9.00 a.m. - 4.00 p.m. Business hours telephone no. 01625 265185.
Please don't telephone outside business hours but you can e-mail spares requests...