Author Topic: Dynamo !!!!  (Read 5863 times)

Offline a10gf

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 2700
  • Karma: 42
  • West Coast, Norway & Alpes Maritimes, France
    • A10 GF
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #15 on: 30.10. 2009 20:43 »
12v, an important piece of information finally emerges  ;)... If you redo the test, try with a 24v, or trough 2x (similar) 12v lamps in series. AFAIR, should give signs of light from tickover, then intensity rising quickly as the revs rises.

A10 GF '53 My A10 website
"Success only gets you a ticket to a much more difficult task"

Online bsa-bill

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 5341
  • Karma: 61
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #16 on: 30.10. 2009 20:46 »
Hi Tone
 A10GF could have a point
All the best - Bill
All the best - Bill
1961 Flash - stock, reliable, steady, fantastic for shopping
1959 Rocket Gold Flash - blinged and tarted up  would have seizure if taken to  Tesco

Offline Tone

  • Brighton UK
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #17 on: 30.10. 2009 21:06 »
How do I wire up 2x 12v in series, or is it easy to get a 24v bulb.

Offline a101960

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 1032
  • Karma: 11
  • BSA RGS BSA C12
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #18 on: 30.10. 2009 22:21 »
Quote
How do I wire up 2x 12v in series, or is it easy to get a 24v bulb.

Tone. A picture is worth a thousand words!

Connect 2 12volt lamps as shown in the rough (very rough) sketch. You connect +ve to -ve  +ve to -ve. Yes it would be easier to use a 24 volt lamp, however a 12 volt lamp should be just fine. As others have said if you were able to take the lamp out there is nothing much wrong with your dynamo. Next stop the regulator. If it is an electronic regulator they do not like reversed polarity.

Offline Tone

  • Brighton UK
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #19 on: 30.10. 2009 23:20 »
sorry, on your sketch on the positive side is that two wires that go into the dynamo? I'm not sure because you say to take out the regulator and you wouldn't have to do that if the loom wires are out of the dynamo,or am I on the wrong track.

Offline a10gf

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 2700
  • Karma: 42
  • West Coast, Norway & Alpes Maritimes, France
    • A10 GF
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #20 on: 30.10. 2009 23:47 »
To complement on a101960's sketch, here's the complete connection for 2x12v lamps.
Return does not need to go to dynamo body, any good connection point on frame, engine etc will do.
If you want to get a voltage readout, connect a dc voltmeter somewhere on the cables over the lamps (red circles)

A10 GF '53 My A10 website
"Success only gets you a ticket to a much more difficult task"

Offline Tone

  • Brighton UK
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #21 on: 31.10. 2009 09:09 »
Thanks very much guys, I'm going to get some more bulbs today and give it a go, I'll let you know how I get on,cheers Tone.

Offline LJ.

  • Peterborough UK.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2006
  • Posts: 1403
  • Karma: 15
  • The Red A10!
    • LJ's Website!
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #22 on: 31.10. 2009 09:55 »
Bear in mind that the scrap yard is the cheapest place for bulbs Tone! I got a hand full this week when getting parts for my daughters car. Not sure where the local scrappy is in Brighton though.
Ride Safely Lads! LJ.
**********************
1940 BSA M20 500cc Girder/Rigid- (SOLD)
1947 BSA M21 600cc Girder/Rigid-Green
1949 BSA A7   500cc Girder/Plunger Star Twin-(SOLD)
1953 BSA B33  500cc Teles/Plunger-Maroon
1961 BSA A10  650cc Golden Flash-Blue
1961 BSA A10  650cc Golden Flash-Red

Offline Tone

  • Brighton UK
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #23 on: 31.10. 2009 17:29 »
Guy's, I did the light test with two bulbs as you showed me, and, it did exactly what you said, just lighting up on tickover then brightening as I revved up, so the dynamo is ok. I also did the bulb test on the ammeter ok. I have a DVR2 regulator on, the only thing I was thinking of doing is unplug it and wire up the mechanical regulator and see what happens, I'll let you know.

Offline a10gf

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 2700
  • Karma: 42
  • West Coast, Norway & Alpes Maritimes, France
    • A10 GF
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #24 on: 31.10. 2009 17:39 »
Good news always welcome *smile*

A10 GF '53 My A10 website
"Success only gets you a ticket to a much more difficult task"

Online muskrat

  • Global Moderator
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 8021
  • Karma: 106
  • Lake Conjola NSW Oz
    • Shoalhaven Classic Motorcycle Club Inc
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #25 on: 31.10. 2009 19:25 »
G'day Tone,
                Could you have fried the DVR2 by hooking up the dynamo polarized to neg earth? I flashed mine before connecting to the DVR2.
Cheers
'51 A7 plunger, '57 A7SS now A10CR, '76 XT500, '77 AG175 '83 CB1100F, '81 CB900F project.
Australia
Muskys Plunger A7

Offline Tone

  • Brighton UK
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #26 on: 01.11. 2009 10:31 »
Just realized I can't try the old regulator because it's 6v, silly me.

Offline flashblack

  • West Devon, England
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 211
  • Karma: 1
  • 1959 golden flash
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #27 on: 01.11. 2009 11:16 »
Tone,

    You`ve established your dynamo is working, and if you have no output from your regulator, then it must be a faulty reg.(providing your wiring is good) But beware of running the bike with a faulty reg, because you risk burning your dynamo out! I`m talking from personal experience here, my reg failed, and then melted the commutator on my dynamo *sad2* 
I now always keep an eye on the ammeter needle for peace of mind!

cheers Richie
build it, ride it, live it!

Offline Tone

  • Brighton UK
  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #28 on: 01.11. 2009 14:13 »
Thanks Richey,  I've been all over the wiring with a meter set so that it buzzes when you are either end of a wire, and a wiring diagram everything seems ok, I thought these solid state regs where suposed to be bulletproof, I can't see how i've damaged it because when I flashed the dynamo I took the wires out of the dynamo.One point on the fitting on the ammeter the metal u shaped clip screws on the same terminals as the wires which means the current goes accross the contacts is this right?

Online bsa-bill

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 5341
  • Karma: 61
Re: Dynamo !!!!
« Reply #29 on: 01.11. 2009 17:53 »
They may do depending on the ammeter used but the wires must be insulated from the bracket in some way ( shaped washer maybe ) otherwise your going to get a short across the bracket and to the headlamp shell .

All the best - Bill
All the best - Bill
1961 Flash - stock, reliable, steady, fantastic for shopping
1959 Rocket Gold Flash - blinged and tarted up  would have seizure if taken to  Tesco