Author Topic: Speedo  (Read 1378 times)

Offline bl**dydrivers

  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: 1
Speedo
« on: 18.11. 2009 00:08 »
I know people must have asked this before, but what speedo is required for a a10 super rocket with nacelle from 60-62?
i dont care about originallity providing it looks the same

would this speedo i found on ebay be suitable?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/SMITHS-SPEEDO-120-MPH-SPEEDOMETER-REPLICA-ENFIELD-BSA_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem4a9c51f930QQitemZ320450197808QQptZMotorcyclesQ5fPartsQ5fAccessories

Offline coater87

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2008
  • Posts: 1181
  • Karma: 6
Re: Speedo
« Reply #1 on: 18.11. 2009 00:38 »
 Hello BL,

 I believe the correct number for your bike is 3305/04- I just got this number speedo for my 58 flash. I sure hope I do not find out here that I paid a fortune for the wrong one!

 Here is a picture (if this works)...

 Lee
Central Wisconsin in the U.S.

Offline Beezageezauk

  • N.E. England
  • Resident Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2006
  • Posts: 669
  • Karma: 21
Re: Speedo
« Reply #2 on: 18.11. 2009 10:08 »
For the speedo's fitted into the nacelle the trip adjuster is operated via a long cable entering the bottom of the unit.

Those fitted onto the triangular mount on the top yoke have the trip adjuster coming out of the side.

I've only ever seen one of those Enfield speedo's and I seem to remember that the  speedo cable drive was different to the Smiths speedo.  Maybe somebody on the forum could advise if these replica units actually fit staight onto a BSA and use the original drive cable with no problems?  ????

Beezageezauk.

Offline zitman

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Speedo
« Reply #3 on: 18.11. 2009 16:39 »
I have bought a couple of these.  They fit straight in the hole in the nacelle but do require some surgery on the speedo cable.  I ended up getting an Enfield cable, taking the the end that screws into the speedo off the outer.  I then did the same to the BSA cable and grafted the Enfield one on.  The square part of the inner cable was lightly smaller on the Enfield speedo but I have an old, original, speedo cable end making press thing I bought off EBay which sorted the problem.

However one thing to note is these speedos are a little on the temperamental side.  Both of mine have a habit of getting stuck at a speed and then appearing to "add" the current speed on to the "stuck" figure.  I have seen 120mph on the A7!

Slackening the nut on the back of the cable where it enters the speedo does seem to help with this though.  The strange thing is when the speedo stops reading correctly the odometer still works fine.

On the whole the speedo looks fine and sometimes reads the correct speed which is OK by me.

Z

Offline trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 2977
  • Karma: 70
Re: Speedo
« Reply #4 on: 18.11. 2009 20:17 »
You may find the ratio is incorrect.
The Super Rocket generally has 1440 revs per mile. The Indian made speedos are calibrated for use with a 2:1 drive box which will give a ratio of approximately 1600 revs per mile.
Trev.

Offline zitman

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 0
Re: Speedo
« Reply #5 on: 19.11. 2009 08:51 »
Comparing the speed shown on mine to my mates when travelling along it appears to read the correct speed.  This is on an A7 and is notwithstanding the fact the the needle stick sometimes.  But on the whole it seems accurate.

Z

Offline trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 2977
  • Karma: 70
Re: Speedo
« Reply #6 on: 19.11. 2009 21:36 »
An A7 uses a different ratio speedo to an A10.
Trev.

Offline brissy_bsa

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 0
  • A new 1951 A10 Golden Flash owner
Re: Speedo
« Reply #7 on: 12.12. 2009 10:00 »
Ive just fitted on of these replicas on my a10. The needle does not move thus no telling speed but it does record the miles travelled. Any ideas? I would have thought that as the odometer works it cant be a cable issue... have no idea really ... hope someone can give me some advise? Ian

Online orabanda

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 1073
  • Karma: 22
Re: Speedo
« Reply #8 on: 12.12. 2009 10:31 »
Ian,
Maybe the needle is not seated (loose) on the (tapered) drive shaft. The shaft would still be turning, but not engaging with the needle.
Just a thought,
Richard

Online muskrat

  • Global Moderator
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 8752
  • Karma: 113
  • Lithgow NSW Oz
    • Shoalhaven Classic Motorcycle Club Inc
Re: Speedo
« Reply #9 on: 12.12. 2009 12:08 »
I have one of those En(mine)field replicas on the cafe. Had to modify the cable as Zitman did. It reads accurately but does waver a bit. I suppose if you pay peanuts you get monkéy's.
Cheers
'51 A7 plunger, '57 A7SS now A10CR,  '83 CB1100F, 88 FXST .
Australia
Muskys Plunger A7