Author Topic: wiring isues HELP  (Read 1632 times)

Offline Buster1450

• Moving Up
wiring isues HELP
« on: 09.01. 2011 11:07 »
Hi Chaps.
I hate electrics they are the Devils work.

I have just put I new wiring loom on my 1960 Golden Flash swing arm with a side car.
With the bike not running all the components work as they should and with the lights on full the amp meter reads -5 however with the bike running the amp meter stays the same for about a minute then when I rev the engine it slams down to -8 and the negative wire gets hot.

Can anyone help?

Offline bsa-bill

• Wise & Enlightened
Re: wiring isues HELP
« Reply #1 on: 09.01. 2011 11:28 »
I'm no expert on the subject but sounds like maybe your dynamo is polarised wrong way around or your voltage regulator is off.
First thing I think would be to check your dynamo, remove the wires from the dynamo then connect both output tabs together with one wire and with the motor running check what voltage you get with a meter from this wire to earth ( bare metal on frame ) more important is the polarity you should get a reading with the positive lead of your meter to earth and the negative to the dynamo, If you get no reading swap the leads around and try again if you get a reading this time then your dynamo is wrong polarity

Try this then get back to us, more informed members may have better suggestions, you may need to flash the dynamo, sounds dramatic but is easy, must be I've done it
All the best - Bill
1961 Flash - stock, reliable, steady, fantastic for shopping
1959 Rocket Gold Flash - blinged and tarted up  would have seizure if taken to  Tesco

Offline Buster1450

• Moving Up
« Reply #2 on: 09.01. 2011 12:03 »
Hi Bill,
I have checked the polarity of the Dynamo and it appears fine +7.4 with the negative terminal of the meter on the dynamo wire and the positive to earth.
Any more thoughts?
Looking again at the wiring diagram there is a few differences,