Author Topic: Getting home - got any good stories?  (Read 608 times)

Online Greybeard

• Jack of all trades; master of none.
  • Wise & Enlightened
Getting home - got any good stories?
« on: 22.03. 2014 21:17 »
....he would drop the sump - complete with its oil, unbolt the rod caps then tin snip new shells directly from the [aluminium] body, bolt them in, pop the sump back on and head off with passengers still aboard.

All of the following tale is true.
I was 21 in 1971. I was a motor mechanic and had very little money. My father gave me his high mileage 1958 four cylinder Ford Consul as a 21st birthday gift. My wife and I decided to drive the Consul to the Scottish Highlands for a camping holiday; a distance of about 600 miles, (or 966 Km, which for the UK is quite a long journey).
On the way I started to hear a small rattle from the engine but could do nothing about it so topped up the engine oil and carried on.
The next day the water pump seal failed. I managed to find a Ford dealership so bought and fitted a new pump.
We got as far as the steep mountain roads in the Scottish Highlands before the radiator sprung a leak and the car was engulfed in steam again! We were a long way from any car repair shops. After getting a bit of local knowledge I hitch-hiked carrying the old radiator into the next town, (Kyle of Lochalsh). The radiator was sent off by train across Scotland to Inverness where there was a car radiator repair company. I got the overhauled radiator back a week later. Our holiday was now over so after fitting the radiator we set off for home on a chilly and wet Sunday morning.