Author Topic: Broken AMP Meter ?  (Read 731 times)

Online Angus

  • Suffolk, UK
  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: 10
  • The A7
Broken AMP Meter ?
« on: 03.09. 2014 10:35 »
First night ride last night with the local VMCC nice run until home time. Turned on lights they where a bit dim, continued home got dimmer and then nothing. Stopped turn all off, then on again pilot light ok but as soon as headlight on nothing.
Idled home. Put into Garage and turn on headlight and it came on.
This morning nothing, not even a brake light, but horn worked and battery showing 6.03 volts.
6 Volt system positive earth 1960 A7.
Had a play check all bulbs they are OK, then check the amp meter as had a loose wire on it before. Power to one side but nothing on the other. If I place a wire across the amp meter contacts all the lights work again.
So my questions :-
Confirm dam W***l amp meter is duff ?
As a temporary fix for day light use only can I just put a wire across the amp meter terminals (effectively taking it out of the circuit) until I get a new one. Without doing any damage.

1961 A7 since 1976
1960 A10 Gold Flash Super Profile Bike
1958 Matchless G80 Project
1952 Norton Model 7 Plunger
1950 T100

Offline duTch

  • Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 4540
  • Karma: 41
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #1 on: 03.09. 2014 11:13 »

 Can't see why not- might spook it back into life..... *smile*

 What is
Quote
W***l

 Try connecting it in a different circuit and see what it does..? and how about if you connect a multi-meter in its place..?
Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Online Angus

  • Suffolk, UK
  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: 10
  • The A7
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #2 on: 03.09. 2014 12:38 »
Thanks Dutch

Quote
What is
Quote
W***l

Its a company beginning with W and ending in L who has had some bad press on here most of the bits from this company put on my bike 2 years ago have now been replaced. I know they do make some Ok stuff I just seam to have found the bad stuff.

Anyway, don't care about the AMP meter work at present just want to be able to keep riding (in daylight) whilst I play with it or get a replacement.

1961 A7 since 1976
1960 A10 Gold Flash Super Profile Bike
1958 Matchless G80 Project
1952 Norton Model 7 Plunger
1950 T100

Offline unclerob

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #3 on: 03.09. 2014 15:45 »
Hi Angus, yes you can connect the 2 wires going to the ammeter to each other to take it out of the circuit but just in case there is something loose inside I'd take them off their terminals and connect directly rather than bridging them with a wire. Bear in mind they are live connections so need insulating to prevent them shorting to, for instance, the headlight shell!

Offline duTch

  • Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 4540
  • Karma: 41
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #4 on: 03.09. 2014 15:50 »
 haha, should've thunk o' that. *conf*....was thinking cuss words... *smile*

 Not to say that is the prob., but I guess you'll find out quickly- just don't go tooo far from home until you know it's ok
 Just saw Robs' post round me up.....
  Maybe you could put female spade connectors and join em with a fuse
Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Offline unclerob

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 214
  • Karma: 6
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #5 on: 03.09. 2014 15:56 »
Good idea Dutch, if its got spade terminals on the gauge you could use a blade type fuse....

Offline a101960

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 1035
  • Karma: 11
  • BSA RGS BSA C12
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #6 on: 03.09. 2014 16:09 »
Quote
Its a company beginning with W and ending in L who has had some bad press on here most of the bits from this company put on my bike 2 years ago have now been replaced.
If you are going to replace your ammeter a really good one is sold by Lyford  http://lyford-bsa.co.uk/ Lyford part number LCS6050. Genuine Lucas 8 amp with a damped needle. I have had one fitted to my bike for about 5 years, and it has never given me any problems. Because the needle is damped it does not swing about wildly all over the place. It gives a nice clear steady indication.
John

Offline warmshed

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: 5
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #7 on: 03.09. 2014 16:42 »
 Just put both terminals under one of the ammeter posts. Its unlikely that the ammeter will be going down to earth. This way you don't have to make up bridging wires or need to change the terminals.

Online Angus

  • Suffolk, UK
  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: 10
  • The A7
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #8 on: 03.09. 2014 17:17 »
Thanks guys.
Will look into a fuse, but missed a lovely day today and my son is off work and he wanted to ride with me, so if no fuse available easily will risk it with Warmshed’s stick them on one terminal.
May it be sunny tomorrow  *smile*

1961 A7 since 1976
1960 A10 Gold Flash Super Profile Bike
1958 Matchless G80 Project
1952 Norton Model 7 Plunger
1950 T100

Online Angus

  • Suffolk, UK
  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: 10
  • The A7
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #9 on: 03.09. 2014 17:46 »
PS on the replacement side in a box in the garage loft is the original amp meter without is chrome rim, If this one is duff then will nick chrome rim and put that one back on. Otherwise will look at Lyfords.
1961 A7 since 1976
1960 A10 Gold Flash Super Profile Bike
1958 Matchless G80 Project
1952 Norton Model 7 Plunger
1950 T100

Online trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 2877
  • Karma: 67
Re: Broken AMP Meter ?
« Reply #10 on: 03.09. 2014 22:05 »
No point in fitting a fuse if your bike already has one in the battery circuit.

Trev.