Author Topic: Stop switch  (Read 1313 times)

Offline Mosin

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 245
  • Karma: 2
  • Cumbria
Stop switch
« on: 16.06. 2009 15:36 »
post moved from other topic
adm

Something else which has just occured to me...

I am about ready to give my new pride and joy a good kick and see if she will fire up, but there does not appear to be any sort of a kill switch fitted anywhere. Assuming that she does actually start, is there a recommended proceude for stopping the engine, or do I just turn off the petrol and wait for it to run dry?

Good Advice
0
No reactions
1960 A7 Shooting Star
1959 D3 Bantam
1994 Triumph Trident 900

North West England

Offline a10gf

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2006
  • Posts: 2817
  • Karma: 42
  • West Coast, Norway & Alpes Maritimes, France
    • A10 GF
Re: Stop switch
« Reply #1 on: 16.06. 2009 17:39 »
Look at your magneto points cover, nothing there to connect an earthing cable ? (or on older models, no push button to short the points plate center bolt ?)
Good Advice
0
No reactions

A10 GF '53 My A10 website
"Success only gets you a ticket to a much more difficult task"

Online RichardL

  • Outside Chicago, IL
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 5139
  • Karma: 49
Re: Stop switch
« Reply #2 on: 16.06. 2009 18:30 »
Mosin,

You need to be prepared for runaway RPM, no oil return, or bad sounds, so waiting for the float bowl to go dry is no good, if you are in a hurry, you couls hook a clip wire to the point center post and have it at the ready to touch to earthn like the primary case.

Be sure to have the oil cap off so you can observe return.

Let us know how it goes.

Richard L.

Good Advice
0
No reactions
Plan on signing up for the world-wide 2020 DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDEon September 27, 2020. This year it's a solo or pillion ride in dapper attire. Watch website at https://www.gentlemansride.com for details.


Offline dpaddock

  • NC, USA
  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 429
  • Karma: 5
Re: Stop switch
« Reply #3 on: 16.06. 2009 20:43 »
As stated, fit a grounding cover to the magneto and a button switch on the bars. Don't leave home without it.

For emergencies, put a hand over the carb inlet (assuming no air filter) or pull the HT leads from the spark plugs.

David
Good Advice
0
No reactions
David
'57 Spitfire


Offline rocket man

  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 466
  • Karma: 2
Re: Stop switch
« Reply #4 on: 16.06. 2009 20:53 »
pull the leads from the sparkplugs prepaire
for a shock they do contain  electric current
 
Good Advice
0
No reactions

Online RichardL

  • Outside Chicago, IL
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 5139
  • Karma: 49
Re: Stop switch
« Reply #5 on: 16.06. 2009 22:07 »
Yes, thank you for not mentioning that the centerpost would be spinning like a dervish, making it a little difficult to keep the clip lead I suggested in place.

I had also thought about tying a couple of lightweight cords (like nylon) aruond the plug caps to pull them off, if need be, without getting shocked.

Richard L.

P,S. Typos in my posts are worst when writing from the Blackberry.
Good Advice
0
No reactions
Plan on signing up for the world-wide 2020 DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDEon September 27, 2020. This year it's a solo or pillion ride in dapper attire. Watch website at https://www.gentlemansride.com for details.