Author Topic: Running dynamo with electrical connections  (Read 203 times)

Offline pdg

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: 0
Running dynamo with electrical connections
« on: 02.02. 2020 16:20 »
Hi,

Does anyone know if it's ok to have a dynamo mechanically connected (spinning) but with the electrical terminals not connected to anything?

Many thanks, Peter.
Good Advice
0
No reactions

Online RDfella

  • Resident Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 946
  • Karma: 8
Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
« Reply #1 on: 02.02. 2020 16:57 »
Won't hurt it in the short term, but likely to glaze the commutator if run for prolonged period.
Good Advice
0
No reactions
'49 B31, '49 M21, '53 DOT, '58 Flash, '00 Firestorm, Weslake sprint bike.

Offline pdg

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: 0
Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
« Reply #2 on: 02.02. 2020 19:15 »
Many thanks for your reply. It's a refurbished dynamo which I don't want to damage, so looks like some wiring, regulator, and a battery will be required.

Regards, Peter.
Good Advice
0
No reactions

Online Rex

  • Resident Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: 2
Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
« Reply #3 on: 02.02. 2020 21:19 »
Depends on how many miles you anticipate doing. The comm will eventually "glaze" whether there's a battery fitted or not. Personally I'd fit a battery etc regardless.
Good Advice
0
No reactions