Author Topic: Running dynamo with electrical connections  (Read 136 times)

Offline pdg

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: 0
Running dynamo with electrical connections
« on: 02.02. 2020 16:20 »
Hi,

Does anyone know if it's ok to have a dynamo mechanically connected (spinning) but with the electrical terminals not connected to anything?

Many thanks, Peter.

Offline RDfella

  • Resident Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 685
  • Karma: 5
Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
« Reply #1 on: 02.02. 2020 16:57 »
Won't hurt it in the short term, but likely to glaze the commutator if run for prolonged period.
'49 B31, '49 M21, '53 DOT, '58 Flash, '00 Firestorm, Weslake sprint bike.

Offline pdg

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: 0
Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
« Reply #2 on: 02.02. 2020 19:15 »
Many thanks for your reply. It's a refurbished dynamo which I don't want to damage, so looks like some wiring, regulator, and a battery will be required.

Regards, Peter.

Online Rex

  • Resident Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 517
  • Karma: 1
Re: Running dynamo with electrical connections
« Reply #3 on: 02.02. 2020 21:19 »
Depends on how many miles you anticipate doing. The comm will eventually "glaze" whether there's a battery fitted or not. Personally I'd fit a battery etc regardless.