Author Topic: fuse  (Read 1093 times)

Online nimrod650

  • Valued Contributor
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Posts: 446
  • Karma: 4
fuse
« on: 31.05. 2015 17:48 »
hi if i fit in line fuse holder on battery lead what rating should the fuse be on 6v system thanks

Offline duTch

  • Ricketty Rocketty Golden Flashback
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 4540
  • Karma: 41
Re: fuse
« Reply #1 on: 31.05. 2015 19:26 »

 Standard genny output is 10A, and 35W headight +5W tailight +21W brakelight (~6A + ~1A + ~3.5A)= 10.5, which suggests a single 10A fuse would be living on the edge so 15 A....I have a 10A fuse on each of the items.
 You'll likely have different options given
 cheers
Started building in about 1977/8 a on average '52 A10 -built from bits 'n pieces never resto intended -maybe 'personalised'
Have a '74 850T Moto Guzzi since '92-best thing I ever bought doesn't need a kickstart 'cos it bump starts sooooooooo(mostly) easy
Australia

Offline trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 2902
  • Karma: 67
Re: fuse
« Reply #2 on: 31.05. 2015 22:51 »
I use 25 or 30 amp fuses. They will hold normally but will blow with a short circuit.

Offline Rgs-Bill

  • A's Best Friend
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2011
  • Posts: 166
  • Karma: 9
  • Rocket Gold Star-Bill - U S of A -- N.W. Corner
Re: fuse
« Reply #3 on: 01.06. 2015 03:14 »
I use 25 or 30 amp fuses. They will hold normally but will blow with a short circuit.

   25 TO 30 MIGHT  cook the wires before the fuse would pop  ????
U S of A
N.W. Corner, Seattle 
1962 RGS
78 YEARS OLD
Still Kick Starting My Motor (9 TO 1)
Although getting a bit tougher to do ! !

Offline trevinoz

  • Newcastle, N.S.W. Australia.
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 2902
  • Karma: 67
Re: fuse
« Reply #4 on: 01.06. 2015 22:27 »
Hi Bill,
                 Originally the wires DID cook, but then there was no fuse fitted.
I have found that most faults that will blow a fuse are short circuits, not a sustained high current fault.
I have blown the 30 amp fuses by inadvertently shorting a wire to frame.
Believe me, the fuse blows instantly and nothing cooks.

Online orabanda

  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 1010
  • Karma: 21
Re: fuse
« Reply #5 on: 02.06. 2015 05:55 »
I use a 25 amp contact breaker; easily  re-settable

Richard

Offline kiwipom

  • Resident Legend
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 751
  • Karma: 8
Re: fuse
« Reply #6 on: 03.06. 2015 10:31 »
hi guys, just completed wiring up the A10. Started with a loom that i obtained some years ago seemed like a ton of wires to get inside the headlight, lots of short wires that i couldn`t use. Halfway into wiring decided to take it all out and start again so after unravelling it so i could use some and toss the rest. I then decided to add an ignition switch and fuse, that turned into rejigging the wiring diagram and running a fuse for everything also incorporating electronic ignition. Probably went over the top but it worked out ok when tested only blew one fuse when i subconsciously connected a negative marked wire to earth completely forgot about positive earth for a moment, all corrected and tested, cheers
A10.G.Flash(cafe racer)Honda 250 vtr. Yamaha Virago XV920.

War! what is it good for?Absolutely nothing, Edwin Star.
NewZealand

Offline Topdad

  • bob hebdon
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2011
  • Posts: 2241
  • Karma: 32
  • l
Re: fuse
« Reply #7 on: 03.06. 2015 14:47 »
A very neat layout .
" rules are made for the guidance of wise men and the blind obediance of fools"
United Kingdom